Phone: 020 8878 5111

Parents Guide to the EYFS

At The Barnes Village Nursery, we work within the Government’s prescribed Childcare guidelines as laid out in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The EYFS is how the Government and Early Years Professionals describe the time in your Child’s life between birth and age 5.  

This is a very important stage as it helps your Child to get ready for school as well as preparing him or her for their future learning and successes. From when your Child is born up until the age of 5, their Early Years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.  

The EYFS splits Children’s learning into 7 key areas.

These are:

1.  Physical Development

  • increasing control over large movements they can make with their bodies so that they can run, jump, hop, skip, roll, balance and lift
  • increasing control over the small movements they make with their arms, wrists and hands so that they can pick up and use objects, tools and materials
  • their understanding about the importance of and how to look after their bodies

2.  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • confidence in themselves and their ability to do things, and valuing their own achievements
  • their ability to get on, work and make friendships with other people, both Children and adults
  • their awareness of, and being able to keep to the rules which we all need to help us look after  ourselves, other people and the environment around us
  • their ability to dress and undress themselves and look after their personal hygiene needs
  • their ability to expect to have their thoughts, opinions and ways of doing things respected and to respect the same in other people

3.  Communication and Language Development
  • conversational skills with one other person, in small groups and in large groups; to talk and listen to others
  • their vocabulary – by learning the meaning of and being able to use new and unfamiliar words
  • their ability to use words and describe experiences

4.  Literacy 
  • their knowledge of the sounds and letters that  make up the words that we use
  • their ability to listen to and to talk about stories
  • knowledge of how to handle books and that they can be a source of knowledge and information
  • knowledge of the purposes for which we use writing
  • making their own attempts at writing

5.  Mathematics
  • understanding and ideas about how many, how much, how far and how big
  • understanding that numbers help us to answer questions about how many, how much, how far and how big
  • understanding and ideas about how to use counting effectively
  • early ideas about the result of adding more or taking away from the amount we already have
  • understanding and ideas about patterns, the shape of objects and parts of objects and the amount of space taken up by objects
  • understanding and ideas about measurements and measuring

6.  Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • positive approaches to learning and finding out about the world around them
  • knowledge about the natural world and how it works
  • knowledge about the made world and how it works
  • their learning about how to choose and use the right tool for each task
  • their skills regarding how to put together ideas about the past and present and the links between them
  • their learning about their locality and its special features
  • their learning about their own and other cultures

7.  Expressive Art and Design
  • the exploration of paint, materials, music, dance, words, stories and role-play to express their ideas and feelings
  • their interest in the way that paint, materials, music, dance, words, stories and role-play can be used to express their ideas and feelings in an imaginative way

For more information, please download the Parents Guide to the EYFS here.